Stacking the Shelves #34

Stacking the Shelves #34

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

My massive Christmas order started coming through so I received A LOT of books this week – most of them are incredibly exciting ones!!! Make sure you check out Booktopia if you want to own any of these yourself!

fullsizerenderBox Sets:

  • His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
  • The Malory Towers Collection – Enid Blyton

I love box sets! These were some of my favourite stories from my childhood, and I know I will want to reread them someday – therefore, it is very important I add them to my collection. (Can you see an attempt at justification here???)

Neil Gaiman:

  • Stardust – Neil Gaiman
  • The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman
  • Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell (illustrator)

I have become a little bit obsessed with Neil Gaiman – just in case you couldn’t tell. These will be my next adventures into his world. I absolutely had to get the illustrated edition of Neverwhere – it is just glorious!

fullsizerender

The Villains Trilogy:

  • Fairest of All – Serena Valentino
  • The Beast Within – Serena Valentino
  • Poor Unfortunate Soul – Serena Valentino

This series is just visually stunning – I will be reviewing them all together when I finish! The hardcovers are so cool – underneath the dust jacket are the villains’ alternative selves. Also, I just really love a good villain origin tale!

fullsizerender

Miscellaneous:

  • Grave Mercy – Robin LaFevers

My colleague has been recommending this to me for AGES. All she had to say was ‘assassin nuns’ and I was intrigued and needed to get my hands on a copy.

  • The Archived – Victoria Schwab

I love her other work, especially Vicious, and this sounds even more intriguing. The dead are kept in a place called the Archive, and the book’s tagline is ‘Every body has a story’. Mysterious, cool, and a bit creepy.

  • Geektastic – edited by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci

A friend recommended this to me twice and the selection of contributing authors is just incredible. I cannot wait to get stuck into it very soon!

  • Vargic’s Miscellany of Curious Maps – Martin Vargic

I have wanted this book since forever – it is so pretty, and just amazing to flick through. It makes me so happy to have my own copy!

ARCs:

  • A Thousand Nights – E. K. Johnstonfullsizerender

I got this from the wonderful Genie in a Book as a trade. It came beautifully wrapped with a very sweet note!

  • No Virgin – Anne Cassidy

A January release – received it from work. Looks like a heavy read despite its small size.

The YA Chronicles:

  • Heartless – Marissa Meyer
  • Holding Up the Universe – Jennifer Niven

I got two YA Chronicles boxes this week! It was very exciting – they are both so pretty!!!

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

