Weekly Recap November 2016 #4

Weekly Recap November 2016 #4

Nine books this week – hopefully this means I am well on my way to achieving my Goodreads goal – I’m up to 321/366! Favourites this week included Two Boys Kissing and Remind Me How This Ends. Head over to Booktopia if you want any of these for yourselves!

img_6652Reawakened – Colleen Houck (3 stars)

A fun, easy read about a young girl, Lily, who gets caught up with a reawakened Egyptian god. Funny at times, but also very fluffy. There will be a sequel but I really don’t think it needs one. It finished nice and neatly.

Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow – Yuval Noah Harari (4 stars)

This book was totally fascinating. I especially loved Harari’s points on immortality and religion. I will admit that there were some bits I missed – I listened to the audio book and it somehow makes it easier to gloss over entire sections without realising!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay – J. K. Rowling (4.5 stars)

The Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie and screenplay have reignited my passion for the Potterverse after the disaster that was Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I especially loved that the screenplay had little line illustrations throughout – so cute! My biggest complaint about the movie is that Johnny Depp was totally wrong for the role of Grindelwald – he is meant to be young and charismatic; Depp was neither of those things in his brief appearance…

Two Boys Kissing – David Levithan (5 stars)

Woooaaahhhh. This was amazing. David Levithan told this story in a very intriguing way, as though the previous generation of gay men were watching over the present generation – their guardian angels if you will. It was beautiful, and a gorgeous story. I can’t believe I haven’t read it until now.

It’s Not Me, It’s You – Stephanie Kate Strohm (3 stars)

A pretty funny, fluffy read told in dialogue form. Avery Dennis is doing an oral history project, and decides to research her dating history to discover why it hasn’t worked out for her in the past. It was a bit predictable, but there were definitely some humorous moments, though some did border on the ridiculous.

fullsizerender

Purple Prose -Liz Byrski and Rachel Robertson (Australian author) (3 stars)

A beautiful collection of non-fiction prose from Australian women about their relationship with the colour purple. Some I liked, some I didn’t – only one stands out; Toni Jordan’s Blue Meat and Purple Language spoke about the author’s mother and her propensity for swearing.

Peripheral Vision: Stories – Paddy O’Reilly (Australian author) (3.5 stars)

An incredibly diverse collection of short stories by Paddy O’Reilly. The vast differences in the styles of each story shows O’Reilly’s skill. They focus on the darker side of human nature – terrifying and tragic. Often I felt ill, but their lyricism almost distracts the mind from the horror.

Remind Me How This Ends – Gabrielle Tozer (Australian author) (5 stars)

Yes, yes, yes, yes! I needed this book so badly. It’s about Milo and Layla, two teenagers lacking direction for the future. It’s about that in-between stage, where you aren’t a child, but aren’t ready to be an adult. It’s about facing the future, and the past, and coming to terms with yourself. It was beautiful, and it was a book I really needed after a tough year. Loved every moment. Sadly, it isn’t out until April, but pre-order now – you need this book in your life!!!

Carve the Mark – Veronica Roth (3 stars)

This was interesting – and it was set in space which is a total win in my book. I’m not allowed to divulge too much, but I will say that I am incredibly intrigued to see what happens next. My full review will come closer to the release date.

What have you been reading this week?

Leave a Reply

