Mini Reviews – Empowering Poetry

Mini Reviews – Empowering Poetry

These two books have convinced me, once and for all, that poetry is a genre I can get behind! Milk and Honey and The Princess Saves Herself in This One are essential reading for young women – they are empowering, and give voice to the very real struggles we often face in our lives. Totally and utterly incredible.

The Princess Saves Herself in This One – Amanda Lovelace
23rd April 2016, CreateSpace
158 pages, 5/5 stars

I bought this book of poetry for its title. Its empowering and heartfelt words enchanted me. Lovelace has created a work fullsizerenderof art – the way she positions her poetry on the page is beautiful.

The dedication is ‘for the boy who lived’ and Lovelace’s Twitter handle is @ladybookmad, so I knew that we would get along before I even opened the page.

It is the story of a life, at times devastating, at times hopeful, always beautifully depicted. Read this book, and like me, be encouraged to slay your own dragons, be the princess who saves herself.

The book was originally self-published, but has since been picked up by Andrews McMeel Publishing – pre-order the new edition here.

 

Milk and Honey – Rupi Kaur
5th November 2015, Andrews McMeel Publishing,
196 pages, 5/5 stars

img_6331Inspiring and empowering, Milk and Honey is a must-read for every young woman. There were so many ‘aha’ moments while reading, so many times I felt that these poems were written for me, to reflect my place in the world.

Some of the poems were painful, reflecting an experience I am grateful not to have had. But they helped me to empathise. Helped me to understand.

The poems about broken relationships helped me to come to terms with my own, to see it in a new light, and to finally let go completely and utterly. This book was an integral part in my healing process.

I felt freed after reading this book, like a weight had been lifted, as though I had discussed some innermost thoughts with my closest friends. Every young woman will take something away from this book. And many young men would benefit from reading it too.

Buy your copy here.

Recommend me your favourite books of poetry! What do you love about them?

Leave a Reply

