Stacking the Shelves #36

Stacking the Shelves #36

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

Oh goodness! A lot of my Christmas order arrived this week, and I received some incredibly exciting ARCs (Strange the Dreamer and Hunted!!!!!!!!!). It’s a bit of an eclectic mix – I’m really excited to binge-read the Stormdancer trilogy, and to read The Lie Tree.

ARCs:

  • Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor
  • Hunted – Meagan Spooner

Wowowowowowowowowow! I am so thrilled to have been sent a copy of Strange the Dreamer – it is a beautiful beautiful ARC, and the story is even better. Every word is like music. Hunted is also incredible, honestly one of the best Beauty and the Beast retellings I have ever, ever read.

  • The One We Fell in Love With – Paige Toon
  • The Gobbledygook and the Scribbledynoodle – Justine Clarke, Arthur Baysting and Tom Jellett (illustrator)

Bought:

  • The Lie Tree – Frances Hardinge and Chris Riddell (illustrator)
  • Metamorphoses – Ovid

These editions are both absolutely stunning. I love anything Chris Riddell illustrates – I trust his choices implicitly. And I have been eyeing off the cloth-bound Metamorphoses for years!

  • Stormdancer – Jay Kristoff
  • Kinslayer – Jay Kristoff

I’m still waiting on the third book so that I can binge-read this series!!!

  • The Hanging Tree – Ben Aaronovitch
  • A Closed and Common Orbit – Becky Chambers
  • City of the Beasts – Isabel Allende

This was one of my favourite books when I was a child; I plan to reread it and then decide if I should buy the rest of the series, which I never actually read… 😛

  • Bone Gap – Laura Ruby
  • The Art of Language Invention – David J. Peterson
  • Storyteller: The Life of Roald Dahl – Donald Sturrock

Old ARCs:

  • Wolf by Wolf – Ryan Graudin
  • Drag Teen – Jeffrey Self
  • Empire of Dust – Eleanor Herman
  • The Best of Adam Sharp – Graeme Simsion
  • The Book That Made Me – Edited by Judith Ridge

I have already read The Book That Made Me, but am thrilled to have a copy I can refer back to! The others have been sitting on my desk at work for ages, and I’m hoping that by bringing them home I will finally get around to reading them!!!

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

