Weekly Recap December 2016 #3

Weekly Recap December 2016 #3

Big reading week – still chasing the Goodreads goal of 366 books! Nine books. Favourites were I,Robot, The Hate U Give, and Stardust. If you want any of these for yourselves, please check them out at Booktopia!

Rivers of London: Body Work – Ben Aaronovitch, Andrew Cartmel, Lee Sullivan, Luis Guerrero, Rona Simpson, Janice Chiang (4 stars)

There are so many people involved in the production of a graphic novel! I love the Rivers of London series by Ben Aaronovitch, but it took me FOREVER to finally read this graphic novel! There is a new one out as well – Night Witch; I have added it to my wish list!

fullsizerender

I, Robot – Isaac Asimov (5 stars)

Well, this was just completely incredible. I cannot believe it has taken me so long to read it! It’s very, very different to the movie, told in short stories about key issues in the development of robotics and one scientist’s contribution – Susan Calvin is just an amazing character! So many moralistic and ethical questions are raised; I loved every moment.

We Come Apart – Sarah Crossan & Brian Conaghan (2 stars)

This was a bit disappointing. I loved One by Sarah Crossan, and it encouraged me to seek out other books written in poetry form. This one just didn’t cut it for me… It’s the story of a crush; Nicu and Jess meet while completing community service for theft. Nicu is from Eastern Europe – he feels a lot of pressure from his parents as they search for a suitable wife for him. Jess has a bad situation at home. They become friends, and then something a little bit more. It’s sweet, but I struggled with the language, and didn’t really connect with either character…

Valentine – Jodi McAlister (Australian author) (3 stars)

I was a bit disappointed with this book. It has a really cool premise; someone is horrifically killing teenagers born on Valentine’s Day in the hopes of killing a Seelie changeling. I loved that premise, but there was too much magic stuff and not enough murder for my liking! I was hoping for a little bit more crime drama…

fullsizerender

Stardust – Neil Gaiman (5 stars)

It’s so cute!!!!! I love it, and it has made me desperate to watch the movie again. This book made me truly believe in the genius of Neil Gaiman. Tristran Thorne’s journey to bring back a star, who turns out to be a stubborn young woman named Yvaine. Their adventures are just marvellous!

The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman (4 stars)

More Neil Gaiman! It couldn’t beat Stardust, but I still really enjoyed this one. I read something similar earlier in the year, Magrit, but The Graveyard Book was much cooler. A baby boy is raised by the inhabitants of a graveyard. His education is a little strange, and his interactions with the real world can get a bit out of hand, but it all works out in the end. Very sweet!

The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas (5 stars)

An incredible, powerful story inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement. Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was raised, and the posh high school she attends in the suburbs. When she is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed friend, Khalil, by a police officer, the easy balance between the two sides of herself is shattered. A story that needs to be told. Painful, but hopeful. I had to put it down to compose myself numerous times while reading.

fullsizerender

Sophie Someone – Hayley Long (3 stars)

This was a really sweet book told with very unique vocabulary. It took a little while to get used to, but by the end of the book I was really enjoying Sophie’s voice. It’s the story of illegal migrants in Belgium, who fled England after Sophie’s Dad committed a crime. As Sophie learns more about her family’s circumstances, she has to reconsider everything she thought she knew. Very interesting story.

The Adventures of Pipi the Pink Monkey – Carlo Collodi, illustrated by Axel Scheffler (3 stars)

Written by the author of Pinocchio, The Adventures of Pipi the Pink Monkey is pretty entertaining. He is a very naughty little monkey, who loses his tail, and then has to learn to keep his promises to get it back. The illustrations by Axel Scheffler are gorgeous – I love everything he does!

What did you read this week?

Leave a Reply

