Weekly Recap January 2017 #1

Weekly Recap January 2017 #1

HAPPY NEW YEAR! While I decided to slow down a little bit on the reading front, I’m still off to a great start. Six books, all by Aussies! A great mix of fiction and non-fiction too! Don’t forget that you can buy any of these books from Booktopia! This week has confirmed my opinion that Australian authors are the best – I must make the effort to read only Aussies more often!

Happy, Healthy, Strong – Rachael Finch (Australian author) (3.5 stars)

It’s another new year, the perfect time to reconsider the ways in which he misuse our bodies. I was lucky enough to meet the lovely Rachael Finch through work; she was so calm and peaceful – I needed to discover her secrets! It had some very interesting tips – I’m definitely going to start stretching every night before bed, and try my hardest to reduce my screen time!

fullsizerender

Newt’s Emerald – Garth Nix (Australian author) (5 stars)

A Regency romance with a magical twist. Lady Truthful Newington (or Newt) is the most marvellous main character. She is on the hunt for her family’s stolen jewel, the Newington Emerald. She’s plucky, resourceful, and fun. And she still loves attending balls! Normally I’m a romance-hater, but the romance in this book is of the best kind – do they like or hate each other??? (Bit like Mr Darcy and Elizabeth…)

Split Infinity – Thalia Kalkipsakis (Australian author) (3.5 stars)

I LOOVVEED Lifespan of Starlight – I cannot believe that it has taken me this long to get around to reading the sequel! Returning to this unique style of time travel was a lot of fun, but the story left me feeling a bit dissatisfied. Some aspects seemed a repeat of the first book, which was a bit disappointing. It’s a bit of a cliffhanger ending, so hopefully it isn’t too long a wait until the next book!

The Aitch Factor – Susan Butler (Australian author) (4 stars)

A really fascinating non-fiction from the editor of the Macquarie Dictionary. Each chapter deals with a different contentious aspect of Australian English – I particularly liked the chapter ‘A losing ugg’. Anyone interested in linguistics and language will get a lot out of this book. The Aitch Factor is accessible, and acknowledges shifts in language, as well as the role of the dictionary in recording language rather than enforcing it.

fullsizerender

Mr Romanov’s Garden in the Sky – Robert Newton (Australian author) (4 stars)

Lexie lives in the commission. Her mother is a heroin junkie, so she is often left to fend for herself. One day she meets an old man, whom great tragedy has befallen, and they become friends. Together with Lexie’s friend Davey, they create a beautiful garden, and then set off on a life-changing journey. This is a gorgeous tale of friendship, loss, and love, and learning to see past people’s exteriors.

The Family Law – Benjamin Law (Australian author) (4 stars)

Benjamin Law writes in such a beautiful manner. His family stories are funny and heart-warming. Despite their massive differences, I can see traces of my mother in his own. It’s just a truly fantastic story about a family, with all of their ups and downs. (I bought Gaysia on audio book because I wanted more of Benjamin’s writing – it’s fascinating!)

Leave a Reply

