Stacking the Shelves #43

Stacking the Shelves #43

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

It was a REALLY big week this week… Oops. Hopefully that is the last of it for a while. I desperately need to implement the rules stated last week – only buy a book if I have read six from the pile, and checked the library. You can get any of these for yourselves too, from  Booktopia.

fullsizerender

Bought:

  • More Letters of Note – Shaun Usher
  • Lists of Note – Shaun Usher

These are brilliant coffee table books; I am in love. They’re so much fun to flick through!

  • How to Talk to Girls at Parties – Neil Gaiman, Fabio Moon & Gabriel Ba
  • Giant Days – John Allison & Lissa Tremain

I have become really interested in graphic novels, and these two came highly recommended. I also really want the next volume in The Wicked and the Divine, but I have to do some saving first…

  • Sharp Ends – Joe Abercrombie

Brilliant fantasy author – I haven’t read all of his work, but I intend to before the end of this year.

  • Get Your Sh*t Together – Sarah Knight

The wonderful author of The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k is back with another wickedly funny self-development book. Knight lives in the Carribean and works from home – it really can’t hurt to take on some of her tips!

  • Kings Rising – C. S. Pacat

I have read it, but I need to complete the series in my bookshelf!

  • Feminist Fairytales – Barbara G. Walker

I think the title is self-explanatory. Can’t wait to read these fairytales retold with vibrant, strong female characters, rather than submissive princesses.

  • Truthwitch – Susan Dennard

My friends screamed at me until I bought this one. I want to read it very soon so that I can grab Windwitch too!

  • How The Marquis Got His Coat Back – Neil Gaiman

This is a Neverwhere short story – I haven’t read Neverwhere itself yet, but this short story was way too cute not to have immediately!

fullsizerender

Books for Trade:

  • Shadow’s Edge – Brent Weeks
  • Beyond the Shadows – Brent Weeks

I have been meaning to read this series for ages; I already own the first one! I’ll get stuck into them in February – my series month (hopefully)!

  • Storm Front – Jim Butcher
  • Poison City – Paul Crilley

These two are wizard detective books! I love this sort of trope. These ones look a bit darker than Rivers of London, which is one of my favourites!

  • The Potion Diaries – Amy Alward
  • Immortal Beloved – Cate Tiernan

I got these two in exchange for some books I had lying around. 🙂 I’ve been interested in The Potion Diaries for a while, but didn’t want to buy it: this is the perfect alternative.

ARCs:

  • Defy the Stars – Claudia Gray
  • Miss Treadway & the Field of Stars – Miranda Emmerson
  • Only – Caroline Baum
  • The Fifth Letter – Nicola Moriarty

All of these interest me, despite their very different genres. I am totally enthralled by the cover of Defy the Stars – so sad it isn’t the final one! I might not get to read it before I have to return it to my friend, but the cover needed to be photographed!

  • Norse Mythology – Neil Gaiman

I have already read this one, but was sent a finished copy: it is a beautiful book!

  • The Woman Who Changed Her Brain – Barbara Arrowsmith-Young

I have been obsessed with Barbara Arrowsmith-Young since I first heard of her in The Brain That Changes Itself. I can’t wait to read her full story.

Have you read any of these? What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

