Stacking the Shelves #44 Part 1

Stacking the Shelves #44 Part 1

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

OOPS. I keep saying again and again thatfullsizerender I have an enormous book-buying problem. This week has once again proven that this is true. Annnnnd, I left my job this week and my incredible colleagues gave me the most amazing gift – a voucher to Booktopia, so this means that next week might also be a little bit insane. I’ll try and knuckle down in February and beyond, but that claim should (obviously) be taken with a pinch of salt. (I have had to split this post into two, due to the sheer volume of books I managed to accumulate this week – DOUBLE OOPS!)

Bought:

  • The Lost Property Office – James R. Hannibal

This looks like a very cute middle grade about a little boy who is good at finding things. But he can’t find his father…

  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – Rebecca Skloot

I have wanted this book for a long time, and finally bought a copy for myself. Henrietta Lacks’ cancer cells became one of the most important tools in medicine. However, they were taken without permission, and her family didn’t know about her legacy until long after her death. Sounds incredible – I love popular science books.

  • Quid Pro Quo – Peter Jones

I might have to have a non-fiction reading month sometime this year! As many of you know, I studied Latin at university. I was delighted when I saw this book about the influence of Latin on the English we speak today!

  • Frostblood – Elly Blake

This YA fantasy comes highly recommended; can’t wait to get stuck into it!

  • The Telomere Effect – Elizabeth Blackburn, Elissa Epel

More popular science, this time about ageing! Telomeres have fascinated me for years, ever since I read an article about Dolly the sheep. The cloned sheep didn’t live for very long, something this article attributed to the fact that the telomeres of the clone weren’t as long as those of a normal lamb.

  • I’d tell you I love you, but then I’d have to kill you – Ally Carter
  • fullsizerenderCross my heart and hope to spy – Ally Carter
  • Don’t judge a girl by her cover – Ally Carter
  • Only the good spy young – Ally Carter
  • Out of sight, out of time – Ally Carter
  • United we spy – Ally Carter

I am doing a buddy read of the Gallagher Girls series with some friends. I didn’t own them, but a friend found them on sale and got them for me!

ARCs:

  • Agent Nomad: The Eleventh Hour – Skye Melki-Wegner

It sounds like a cross between Harry Potter and Artemis Fowl with a female heroine. Can’t wait to give it a try.

  • The One Memory of Flora Banks – Emily Barr
  • Life in a Fishbowl – Len Vlahos
  • Allegedly – Tiffany D. Jackson

All of these look gripping for very different reasons. They’re all contemporary; Flora Banks covers amnesia, Fishbowl looks at grief in the public eye, and Allegedly explores the grey areas in justice.

  • Bronze Bird Tower – Carole Wilkinson

I LOVED this series at primary school! I think I may have missed one along the line, but I’m so excited that they’re still around!

  • The Shadow Land – Elizabeth Kostova

I read Kostova’s The Historian when I was in early high school. It was terrifying, but also totally incredible. Unbelievably excited to try this new one.

Graphic Novels:

  • Hellcat! #7
  • The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl 008
  • Lumberjanes #26
  • Hellcat! vs. Hedy #5
  • Storm 003
  • Hellcat! #4
  • Grayson #4
  • Grayson #5
  • Silk 009
  • Archie #3
  • Silk 011

A friend at work convinced me to give comics a try, and I LOVE THEM! So she lent me all of these – they shouldn’t take me long but they’ve been sitting on my desk for a long time and I haven’t read them yet!

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

