Stacking the Shelves #44 Part 2

Stacking the Shelves #44 Part 2

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

This week was so intense, I’ve had to split my post into TWO! This lot of books are secondhand ARCs I received before I left my job. You can get any of these for yourselves (albeit finalised copies), from  Booktopia.

  • The Icarus Show – Sally Christie

fullsizerenderI’m a sucker for anything that makes reference to Greek mythology. This book looks like it is about bullying, rather than Greek myth, but I’m still very interested.

  • Podkin One Ear – Kieran Larwood

This reminds me a little bit of Watership Down (a book I’ve actually never finished…) It’s about a rabbit who goes on an adventure.

  • Maybe a Fox – Kathi Appelt & Alison McGhee

It looks sad, but touching.

  • In the Dark, in the Woods – Eliza Wass

I was super intrigued when ARCs of this book were delivered to US bloggers in boxes of soil (it’s called The Creswell Plot in the US). It looks dark and creepy.

  • Jake Atlas and the Tomb of the Emerald Snake – Rob Lloyd Jones

This was definitely a book I picked up based on its title; it sounds a bit Indiana Jones-ish.

  • Elizabeth and Zenobia – Jessica Miller

This book has had lovely reviews, plus it’s by an Australian author!

  • A Girl Called Owl – Amy Wilson

It’s about a girl who is the daughter of Jack Frost – of course I needed this book!

  • The Whispers of Wilderwood Hall – Karen McCombie

A timeslip novel – I LOVE THIS KIND OF THING!

  • The Secret of Nightingale Wood – Lucy Strange

I don’t know anything, but I love the colours of the cover….

  • The Scourge – Jennifer A. Nielsen

It’s a plague story, and a mystery – yes, please!

img_7009

  • It Looks Like This – Rafi Mittlefeheldt

I have read incredible reviews; I wasn’t going to read this book, but now I must.

  • Icarus Down – James Bow

Another book with Greek mythology in the title. Only this one is about space travel (I think), which is always cool.

  • Today Will Be Different – Maria Semple

I have always intended to read some of Maria Semple’s work but have never gotten around to it. Now I do not have an excuse.

  • Aerie – Maria Dahvana Headley

The sequel to Magonia. I was a bit ambivalent about the first book, but I’m still intrigued. They do, however, have beautiful cover art.

  • A Tyranny of Petticoats – Edited by Jessica Spotswood

A short story collection which comes highly recommended.

  • Olmec Obituary – L J M Owen

Elizabeth Pimms must solve a three-thousand-year-old mystery using archaeological and detective skills – SOUNDS AWESOME.

Which of these should I read first?

 

Leave a Reply

