Weekly Recap January 2017 #4

Weekly Recap January 2017 #4

I had intended to continue my run of all-Aussie authors, but this week I was completely derailed. I MET NEIL GAIMAN on Tuesday, so I HAD to read Neverwhere, the only book of his I owned but had not read. AND I GOT THEM SIGNED AND PERSONALISED. (Yes, I am still extremely excited about this fact.) It was a bit of a slow week – nine books, but many were graphic novels! I didn’t even have a slump, I just read slowly… Not good considering the sheer volume I have to get through! (See my shameful book haul this week – Part 1 and Part 2.) I also spent some time this week reading self-development books – I’ve been at a bit of a crossroads in terms of employment, and living situation, and I wanted some tips and tricks for ‘Choosing Happy’, my 2017 resolution.

How to Talk to Girls at Parties – Neil Gaiman, Fabio Moon, Gabriel Ba (4 stars)

A really fun graphic novel about the terrifying nature of teenage girls. Enn doesn’t understand girls, but his friend Vic seems to have them all figured out. They end up gate-crashing a party where the girls are way, way more than they first appear… Great twist, lots of fun.

fullsizerender

Bloom: Navigating Life and Style – Estee Lalonde (2 stars)

I picked this book up on a whim – it’s very pretty. I think I would have enjoyed it more had I known Estee Lalonde from her Youtube channel. There were some interesting tips on wardrobe and packing staples, but overall I found it tedious and self-indulgent. There were also quite a few spelling errors! Quelle horreur!

Only – Caroline Baum (Australian author) (3.5 stars)

This was a really fascinating biography, told in vignettes. I did struggle a little bit as the book leaped back and forth throughout history, but overall it was marvellous. It’s the story of an only child who feels the weight of the hopes and dreams of her traumatised parents. It was very heavy, and I could only read a little at a time. But I thought it was wonderful, and am passing it onto my father to read next.

Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman (5 stars)

If you haven’t read this, read it. It should be compulsory reading for everybody. Gaiman has imagined a London with another world beneath it, for those who fall between the cracks. Once you join their ranks, you become invisible to the people of real London. It’s a truly brilliant metaphor to depict those who are struggling, and lack support. Chris Riddell’s illustrations in this version are just stunning. I loved this book, and will now be desperately seeking a version of the television series!

fullsizerender

Giant Days – John Allison, Linda Tremain (4 stars)

A graphic novel about three girls who have just started university. It was both funny and sweet. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next few volumes. Have to wait until a significant chunk of the TBR has been handled though… SO GOOD!

I’d tell you that I love you, but then I’d have to kill you – Ally Carter (4 stars)

I am doing a buddy read of the whole series with a group of friends. It is a tiny bit trashy, but the kind of trashy that I love – like The Selection. It’s about a school for young women, only they’re training to be spies! Cammie Morgan is about to face her toughest assignment yet – dating. It’s so much fun!

Happier at Home – Gretchen Rubin (2 stars)

I way preferred Gretchen’s other book about happiness, The Happiness ProjectThis one was focused more on her relationship with her husband and children. While there were some interesting tips, overall it was not a success for me. I’ll be finding my happiness tips elsewhere.

fullsizerender

Rivers of London: Night Witch – Ben Aaronovitch, Andrew Cartmel, Lee Sullivan, Luis Guerrero (3 stars)

I liked this book, especially the character of the Night Witch herself. However, I did experience a lot of confusion given that the first few pages are in Russian, WITHOUT a translation! Oops! Hahaha – I am, however, really enjoying the graphic novel format of the Peter Grant novels; it works really well, and is a great way to keep me invested in the series during the long wait for each new book!

Get Your Sh*t Together – Sarah Knight (4 stars)

Not as excellent as Sarah Knight’s The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k, but still pretty amazing. I read this book while I was waiting to hear back about multiple job opportunities. It was the kick up the arse I needed to stop feeling sorry for myself and to set some goals. First things first, I decluttered my inbox, deleting 900 unnecessary emails and unsubscribing from multiple mailing lists. I still have 100 emails to deal with, but that is a significant improvement. I have also started embracing Sarah’s idea of the ‘must-do list’ before the ‘to-do list’. It’s working wonders.

What have you been reading this week?

Leave a Reply

