Stacking the Shelves #45

Stacking the Shelves #45

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

I had another really intense week. My beautiful colleagues from Booktopia gave me a gift voucher and my order arrived! I also bought a few for myself. However, I have started a new job this week and we get paid monthly (I’m used to fortnightly) so I can’t afford new books while I’m figuring out how to budget again…

Bought:

  • Summer Days, Summer Nights – Edited by Stephanie Perkins

Technically, this is a gift for my little sister. However, I will be reading it before I give it to her…

  • The Disappearance of Ember Crow – Ambelin Kwaymullina
  • The Foretelling of Georgie Spider – Ambelin Kwaymullina

I absolutely loved The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf, and am so excited to read the rest of the trilogy sometime this month!!

  • The Last Dragonslayer – Jasper Fforde

I love Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series, and this one looks fantastic too!

  • Wonder Struck – Brian Selznick
  • The Marvels – Brian Selznick

Selznick creates incredible stories which are told through images AND words. Plus, they are absolutely gorgeous hardcovers – I really couldn’t resist!

  • Windwitch – Susan Dennard

My friends have been raving and raving about this series. I have the first (though I haven’t read it yet), and now I have the second. I had better hurry up and read them before the third comes out!

  • Wires and Nerve – Marissa Meyer

This is a graphic novel relating to the world of The Lunar Chronicles – it’s about Iko, the sassiest robot there ever was and I cannot wait to return to this world, and my favourite character.

  • A Shadow Bright and Burning – Jessica Cluess
  • Penguin Teen Australia Super-Proof 2017

Both of these arrived with my YA Chronicles subscription box. It also had a One Ring necklace, and some gorgeous fantasy-esque prints.

  • Atlas Obscura – Joshua Foer, Dylan Thuras & Ella Morton

This is a travel book with a difference; it’s the weird and wonderful places of the world which don’t appear in your traditional travel guides.

  • Books for Living – Will Schwalbe

I LOVE BOOKS ABOUT BOOKS SO MUCH. That is all.

  • Heart – Johannes Hinrich von Borstel

This is a popular science/health book in the style of Gut by Giulia Enders. I’m looking forward to it – Gut is amazing.

  • The Art of Frugal Hedonism – Annie Raser-Rowland with Adam Grubb

A book about living luxuriously on the cheap. (Sort of.)

fullsizerender

Sample copies:

  • A Whole New World: A Twisted Tale

I love fairytale retellings and this looks so cool! Could not resist.

  • The Mills & Boon Modern Girls Guide to Happy Hour – Ada Adverse

The title says it all. If I love this, I’m sure it will feature heavily as a gift this year.

Which of these do you like the look of? What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

