Weekly Recap February 2017 #2

Weekly Recap February 2017 #2

Twelve books this week, and a super nice range. I read three graphic novels, one non-fiction, one gift book, three middle-grade novels, two YA books, and an incredible anthology. Let me know if you agree with me on any of these, or buy them for yourselves from Booktopia!

The Telomere Effect – Elizabeth Blackburn and Elissa Epel (3 stars)

I’ve been fascinated with telomeres for a long time, and this book was an interesting discussion on the things which can improve telomere length, and therefore an individual’s longevity, and health. However, most of the tips described are common-sense ideas for good health – exercise, eat well, take care of your mental health, etc. I still enjoyed the read, but didn’t take many new and exciting tups away with me.

fullsizerender

Wires and Nerve – Marissa Meyer (4 stars)

I absolutely love the world of The Lunar Chronicles. Iko is my absolute favourite character and I am so excited that this graphic novel focuses on her as the protagonist – and she is totally kick-ass! Iko has been tasked to bring to heel the genetically modified Lunar soldiers, and to stop them from hurting Earth citizens. And she is doing an excellent job. Until the escapees mobilise… There will definitely be more after that ending, and I CANNOT WAIT! I love these characters so much!

Don’t judge a girl by her cover – Ally Carter (4 stars)

The Gallagher Girls series just gets more and more intense with each and every book. A kidnap attempt on Macey McHenry means that security is tightened, both on the campaign trail and at school; but really, who is better qualified to look out for her than her best friends? Introducing Cammie Morgan’s aunt, Abby – a Gallagher Girl alumna, and all round fabulous human being. We also get more Zach which is just marvellous. And it ends with a brilliant twist.

The Whispers of Wilderwood Hall – Karen McCombie (3 stars)

I really liked how this book dealt with anxiety. Ellis’ mother has just married a famous rock star and together they have purchased an old estate in the Scottish countryside. Ellis isn’t really coping well with all of the change in her life, and then she starts seeing scenes from the past, and forms a connection with a bullied young maid named Flora. But everything is not as it seems and the story builds up to a fantastic conclusion, both in the past and in Ellis’ present.

fullsizerender

The Secret of Nightingale Wood – Lucy Strange (3 stars)

Henry has moved to the countryside with her parents and her baby sister, Piglet. The whole family is grieving after the death of Robert, their son and brother. Henry’s mother is in the middle of a nervous breakdown, and there are suspicious doctors desperate to have her committed to a terrifying asylum. And then there’s Moth, a woman Henry meets in the woods, who lives with her own intense pain. I loved Henry’s perspective, her very raw emotion as her family falls apart around her. It was also incredibly interesting to see the treatment of mental health in the past; Henry and Piglet weren’t permitted to see their mother, who was kept sedated and alone at all times.

A Girl Called Owl – Amy Wilson (3 stars)

The daughter of Jack Frost is coming into her powers. Having been raised as a human, Owl is struggling to come to terms with her magical heritage, which is compounded by the rest of the magical court refusing to believe she belongs amongst them. In addition to her frost powers, Owl has to deal with real life; her best friend’s parents have just separated, there’s a new boy at school who seems weirdly obsessed with her, and she’s struggling to confide in her mother about all of this…

Only the good spy young – Ally Carter (4 stars)

I am just loving this series. This book just takes the story to an entirely new level. Double agents, a secret spy circle, and SO MUCH DANGER. The stakes have never been higher. Ally Carter raises the bar in this book. I love doing this buddy read with my friends, but seriously people – HURRY UP so that I can start Book Five RIGHT NOW. Hehehehe – I love it!

fullsizerender

Lifeblood – Gena Showalter (2.5 stars)

The sequel to Firstlife. I like the basic premise to this book but its execution totally killed me. It took me so long to finish this one, because I just struggled to sink into the world. Ten is a really irritating main character – I think I would enjoy this series a lot more if literally anyone else was the narrator. Still, now that Ten is dead and living in the spirit world, we do see a lot more world-building; however, the action is a bit boring and repetitive – I way preferred her visit to Many Ends in the first book.

Begin, End, Begin: A #LoveOzYA Anthology – Edited by Danielle Binks (Australian authors) (5 stars)

JUST WOW. Every single one of these stories was incredible. I couldn’t pick a favourite if I had to. The book itself isn’t out until May, so you’ll have to wait for my review, but I will be reviewing each of the stories separately and they are all sooooo good! Some of my personal favourites include those by Will Kostakis, Jaclyn Moriarty, and Alice Pung, but they were all just incredible. Australia truly has a fantastic wealth of YA talent from which to draw these stories. I hope we see more #LoveOzYA anthologies in the future, and regularly!

The Wicked + The Divine: Fandemonium – Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matthew Wilson, Clayton Cowles (4 stars)

These graphic novels are excellent. The story intensifies, nothing is sacred. Ananke is a creepy old woman with waaaayyyy too much power. Shockingly bad things happen often, but it keeps you on your toes. The art is great, as is the plot. So cool and gritty.

fullsizerender

The Wicked + The Divine: Commercial Suicide – Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matthew Wilson, Clayton Cowles (3 stars)

The art style was changed up for this volume. I still liked it, but not as much as the first two. The story did get incredibly intense though, and I was surprised at every turn. Nothing could be predicted. And, of course, it ended on a MAJOR cliffhanger.

The Mills & Boon Modern Girl’s Guide to Happy Hour – Ada Adverse (3 stars)

This makes a perfect gift book. Told in an A-Z fashion, with a funny definition and accompanying picture for each letter, this book perfectly encapsulates the stupid things modern women might get up to after a drink or two… I wasn’t expecting to giggle quite as much as I did.

What have you been reading this week? Do you see any of your favourites in here?

Leave a Reply

