Stacking the Shelves #50

Stacking the Shelves #50

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

I was going to try and accumulate no books at all this week, for my fiftieth edition of Stacking the Shelves. However, it was my birthday week, and I lack no self-control. I GOT NINE NEW BOOKS! Four were purchased by me, one is borrowed, one was a gift, one is an ARC, and two were books from work which nobody wanted. If any of these tickle your fancy, you can find them at Booktopia.

Gifts to self:

I already own many copies of this book, but I LOVE IT SO MUCH. I also want the UK hardcover at some point!!! (I may have a few problems…) I had hoped that it would arrive in time for the Garth Nix signing last week, but Australia Post accidentally sent it nine hours drive in the wrong direction! OOPS!

FullSizeRender

I have already read this book, and liked it a lot! As I only owned an ARC, I was thrilled to see that the hardcover was on sale, and I BOUGHT IT. It’s really nice! I am becoming addicted to hardcovers, and this is a bit of an issue… Both for my wallet, and my bookshelf!

  • Caraval – Stephanie Garber

Yes, I already own this book in hardcover. But this is the US edition, which was included in this month’s OwlCrate box! (Which I needed for the very gorgeous The Night Circus-inspired tote bag which came with it…) It’s a bit shiny! 🙂

  • Conjuring of Light – V. E. Schwab

The third book in the Darker Shade of Magic series! I started the second book, A Gathering of Shadows, and couldn’t remember anything, so I need to do a reread! I’m looking forward to it; I have heard amazing things!

Borrowed:

  • The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl – Melissa Keil

I recently read and adored Melissa Keil’s Secret Science of Magic, so I’m intrigued to read some of her earlier work! A friend was kind enough to lend this to me! 🙂

FullSizeRender

Birthday Present:

I have read and adored this book, but didn’t have my own copy! My lovely friend bought it for me, in preparation for the sequel coming out very very very soon!

Extra Books:

  • Red Sister – Mark Lawrence

IMG_7208I cannot wait to have the time to get stuck into this one (it’s pretty big)! I just finished the Red Queen’s War trilogy, which starts with Prince of Fools in preparation for Lawrence’s newest book. This one has a kick-ass female protagonist who is an assassin nun; I can’t resist. It strikes me as a bit similar to Nevernight, but I’m sure Lawrence will have something completely different in store for me!

  • Drink – Ann Dowsett Johnston

I am really getting into nonfiction at the moment, and this book looks fantastic. It’s about women and their relationship with alcohol. Not being a very big drinker myself (I am drunk after one glass of wine, and two results in obscene hangovers), I am intrigued by the different ways in which women interact with booze.

FullSizeRender

  • How to Win At Feminism – Reductress

I think that this would be a suitable gift for a number of my friends. I want to flick through to confirm this feeling! It’s very bright.

What did you add to your shelves this week?

 

Leave a Reply

