Stacking the Shelves #52

Stacking the Shelves #52

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

I was planning to be really really really good this week…. And then my friends took my along to a Lifeline Bookfest! I bought so many books! And that was in addition to an amazing gift, and another book I bought for myself! OOPS! 😛

Don’t forget to take a look over at Booktopia if you, like me, need any of these in your life!

Gift:

  • The Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook – Dinah Bucholz

My friend knows me waaaayyyy too well. A Harry Potter obsessive, this is the cookbook of my dreams. It includes recipes for almost every food item mentioned in the series, and has a paragraph explaining exactly when Harry and his friends eat it. SO COOL. I’m sure Mum will be impressed when I actually start cooking from it…. 😛

Bought:

  • The Barefoot Investor – Scott Pape

I know very little about finance and investments, and all the rest of it, but am very interested to learn more now that I am earning a full-time salary. I have heard amazing things about this book, and decided to invest (*finance pun, ha!*) in a copy for myself. From my quick glance through, it looks like an easy-to-digest book about how to manage money, which is exactly what I want. (Hopefully there are some tips hidden in there about how to stop buying books – what do you think my chances are?)

Lifeline:

  • Cairo Jim on the Trail to ChaCha Muchos – Geoffrey McSkimming

I loved this series as a kid, and found quite a few a few months ago – with this one added to the collection, I now only have one more before I have the whole series again!

  • Silver Brumby, Silver Dingo – Elyne Mitchell

I absolutely devoured the Silver Brumby series, and reread them countless times. I even had an imaginary horse named Thowra. I don’t have this title in my own collection, so was thrilled to find it. I think it’s almost time for a reread! (Might have to wait until early next year though… Still so much of the TBR to get through!)

  • The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde

One of the few classics I have loved unconditionally, yet somehow didn’t have my own copy…

  • Daughter of the Regiment – Jackie French

Definitely my favourite Jackie French book – I borrowed it from the library so many times when I was in primary school. It isn’t the cover I was after, but given that the book is out of print I’m lucky to have found a copy at all!

FullSizeRender

  • Ella Enchanted – Gail Carson Levine

I actually really love the movie, but haven’t ever read the book. It is the movie cover, which would normally make me think twice, but hey, second-hand books are so cheap!

  • Black Maria – Diana Wynne Jones
  • Stealer of Souls – Diana Wynne Jones

Diana Wynne Jones’ Chrestomanci series was yet another childhood favourite – finding these was definitely a hit of nostalgia!

  • Troubletwisters – Garth Nix & Sean Williams

After my success with Frogkisser!, I just want to try all of Garth Nix’s books!

  • Dear Enemy – Jean Webster

One of the friends I attended with shoved this into my hands and told me that I had to read this one. Can’t resist that kind of enthusiasm!

  • The Map That Changed the World – Simon Winchester
  • History’s Worst Decisions and the People Who Made Them – Stephen Weir

I love non-fiction, and these two look fascinating. I’ve never been a writer, but if these inspire some ideas, I won’t complain!

  • The Greek Myths II

This is a very pretty edition of Greek myths. Now to look for The Greek Myths I.

  • On the Jellicoe Road – Melina Marchetta

Now my sister and I won’t fight about who gets our copy with the original cover art! 😛

  • Possession – A.S. Byatt

I read this for my Year 12 English Extension class. I absolutely loved it – not something you hear often about texts you have to read for school, so I’m really pleased to have found a copy.

  • The Scarlet Pimpernel – Baroness Orczy

It’s such a nice edition – I want to go trawling through second-hand book fairs more often! (I can’t though – my room really won’t fit too many more books…) I’ve never read this classic, but will hopefully be inspired by the beauty of this edition!

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

