Weekly Recap March 2017 #5

Weekly Recap March 2017 #5

FullSizeRenderOnly four books this week! I’ve changed my commuting patterns, so I’m only on the train for two hours a day, and it is definitely affecting my reading! The new Mark Lawrence was pretty good, but it took me soooo long to finish! And yet, I read The Most Beautiful and Difficult Women in the same day! How do you squeeze extra reading into your day?

Heist Society – Ally Carter (4 stars)

Buddy read!!! Just as wonderful as the first book. I still love all of the characters in this motley teenage heist crew. Kat Bishop gets conned into stealing a precious emerald; she is embarrassed, and determined to right her wrong. Ally Carter writes such fun books, which make me want to accumulate the skills required to be a spy and/or a thief!

Red Sister – Mark Lawrence (4 stars)

A young girl is rescued from the gallows and taken to a convent, where nuns train her in the art of killing. The initial premise reminded me a bit of Nevernight, but having read (and loved) Mark Lawrence’s Prince of Thorns and Prince of Fools series, I knew the writing style would be very very different.

This wasn’t my favourite Mark Lawrence book by a long shot, but I did really love his characters. Nona and Ara will make a fearsome team, and we do get glimpses of their future in the interludes between parts. Both girls have certain magical gifts. I can’t wait to see where Mark Lawrence takes these girls in the next book and beyond. Interesting and resourceful, this school of deadly nuns has convinced me to do my own training so that I am less useless in my own daily life.

The Most Beautiful – Emily Hauser (2 stars)

I studied Latin at school and university, and am a complete sucker for any tales of the Trojan War which is why I picked this book up in the first place. I liked the scenes which took place on Mount Olympus, with the gods speaking amongst themselves, but I found the main characters a bit dreary, and the storyline heavily influenced by the Brad Pitt movie Troy. It has inspired me to reread the Aeneid and the Iliad, but overall I wasn’t particularly impressed…

Difficult Women – Roxane Gay (3.5 stars)

A marvellous collection of short stories across a range of genres. They are painful and gross and crude and awful, but are also true and real. She has captured the essence of being a woman, and speaks about the many expectations of the modern woman. Each story has something to offer. I hope to share this with many friends as we each stumble through our twenties and the expectations society will place on us during this period.

What have you been reading this week?

Leave a Reply

