Stacking the Shelves #54

Stacking the Shelves #54

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

WOAH. I may have gone overboard to the extreme this week… How did I get up to 19 new books??? Oops… There was quite a bit of book shopping, and I got some ARCs sent to me by publishers. But seriously, from now on, I need to stop the purchasing. I am drowning in books. I need to make a rule that I can only get one new book for every 10 books I read. And I have to unhaul regularly.

Allen & Unwin:

  • How to Bee – Bren MacDibble
  • And Then You’re Dead – Cody Cassidy & Paul Doherty
  • Spellslinger – Sebastian de Castell

The wonderful people at Allen&Unwin sent me these beauties! I’m excited about And Then You’re Dead – it’s all about the world’s most interesting ways to die! Confronting mortality, much? How to Bee looks pretty intriguing – it’s set in a dystopian Australia where bees have died out and children pollinate flowers by hand. And I’ve heard a lot about Spellslinger and am very excited to formulate my own opinions.

FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender

Dymocks 101:

  • Talking to My Country – Stan Grant
  • The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck – Mark Manson
  • Humans of New York: Stories – Brandon Stanton

Dymocks released their 101 List very recently (see it here)! Given that I have read 64 of the 101, I aim aiming to read the entire Dymocks101 list again this year. I last tried this in 2015, and read everything excluding The Bible. Given that some titles are in fact the full series and not just Book 1, I have a few more than 37 to go!

Seeing as Dymocks does a 3-for-2 deal with their 101 list for the first month, I decided to purchase ones I’m really interested in owning for myself! And those are the three you see above! 🙂

HarperCollins/Harlequin:

  • All Rights Reserved – Gregory Scott Katsoulis
  • The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue – Mackenzi Lee
  • The Rise and Fall of the D.O.D.O – Neal Stephenson & Nicole Galland
  • After – Nikki Gemmell

These all look absolutely fascinating! I’m reading All Rights Reserved at the moment – it’s really interesting, set in a world where every word and gesture is copyrighted and must be paid for. My friend has told me that she adores The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue – I want to get stuck into it ASAP. The Rise and Fall of the D.O.D.O looks like some pretty cool sci-fi – I think it has some time travel which IS MARVELLOUS! And After is about Nikki Gemmell’s personal experience with her mother’s death – it discusses euthanasia and the right to die with dignity, topics which interest me greatly.

Presents:

  • The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon
  • The Mime Order – Samantha Shannon
  • The Song Rising – Samantha Shannon
  • Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor

My amazing friend gave me the first two Bone Season hardcovers for my birthday. It’s her fault that I have begun ordering more and more hardcovers – they’re just so pretty! And how stunning is Strange the Dreamer? I have already read it (review still to come), but needed this edition in my life!

Borrowed:

  • Defy the Stars – Claudia Gray

My friend wasn’t a big fan, but this ARC cover is way too pretty to let that deter me from trying it myself!

Gifts to Self:

  • The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern
  • Big Happy Mushy Lump – Sarah Andersen

I reread The Night Circus for a book club recently and I’ve always promised myself a hardcover edition – so I finally got one and it is BEAUTIFUL! I love Sarah’s Scribbles, hence Big Happy Mushy Lump.

Graphic Novels:

  • Paper Girls 1 – Brian K. Vuaghan, Cliff Chiang, Matt Wilson & Jared K. Fletcher
  • The Wicked + the Divine: Vol. 4, Rising Action – Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matthew Wilson & Clayton Cowles

A friend convinced me that I needed Paper Girls in my life, and I think she is very, very right. I love it! But I want the next one already and am on a book-ban for real this time. The Wicked + the Divine is just fantastic; it keeps getting better and better!

What did you add to your shelves this week? Are any of these on your list?

 

Leave a Reply

