Weekly Recap April 2017 #1

Weekly Recap April 2017 #1

April is off to a good start! After an intense accumulation of books this week, I definitely had to get through a megaton to make up for it! New rule (I say these sorts of things WAAAAYYY too often): I have to read 10 books for every one I bring home.

Highs this week included a reread of The Night Circus – it’s even more perfect than I remember it being – and Uncommon Criminals. I read quite a lot of non-fiction and graphic novels too! My biggest fail was Mark Manson’s The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck – it just wasn’t for me; I didn’t like the advice or the style of writing.

Uncommon Criminals – Ally Carter (4 stars)

Another fantastic Heist Society novel. Ally Carter is just fantastic! These books are so much fun, although they do make me want to learn the skills necessary to be a spy and/or a thief. If that’s what it takes to make me exercise…

In this book, Kat Bishop is conned… When she realises her mistake, she is determined to fix it, ALONE. But the crew doesn’t let her do that, and together they work to steal back a cursed emerald. Can’t wait to read Perfect Scoundrels shortly!

FullSizeRender

The Barefoot Investor – Scott Pape (Australian author) (3.5 stars)

I don’t think I ever pictured myself reading a finance book, but this one is really comprehensible. While I won’t adopt all of Scott Pape’s ideas (mostly because he operates on the assumption that a person is earning at least $70,000), he did make me feel more comfortable about the stock market. What annoyed me were the little anecdotes peppered throughout, like the single mum who bought her own home in ten years, yet didn’t elaborate on the methods she used to get there. Overall, a worthwhile read if you need some help getting your head around business concepts.

Big Mushy Happy Lump – Sarah Andersen (4 stars)

Sarah’s Scribbles are some of my favourite little snippets on the Internet. I adored Adulthood is a Myth! This one wasn’t as fantastic, mostly because it was very relationship-heavy. Not something a single girl can really connect with! But her comics about being an adult, and a woman, ring very true.

When in French: Love in a Second Language – Lauren Collins (3 stars)

I really enjoyed this story of an American woman, her French husband, and their language barriers. Although Olivier spoke almost perfect English, Lauren spoke no French when they embarked on their relationship. I particularly loved that neither of them could pronounce the other’s name correctly! When in French is the story of Lauren’s struggle to learn French when she and Olivier moved to Geneva, and the subsequent revelation that she was learning more about her husband and his quirks by learning his mother tongue. Interspersed with Lauren’s own anecdotes are reference points about language learning and interesting studies into the effects of learning and speaking other languages. A really interesting read for the language lover.

FullSizeRender

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern (5 stars)

I cannot express the absolute perfection of this book enough. I had so many tingles down my spine. It is an homage to the art of storytelling. Just divine. If you haven’t read, you really really really must. Also, I want to give my wedding a Night Circus theme – even though it isn’t on the cards yet, I KNOW THIS!

The One We Fell in Love With – Paige Toon (3 stars)

A bit of a trashy read, but it did actually get pretty interesting. The beginning was slow, but there was a fantastic PLOT TWIST about halfway through. It was then that I became incredibly intrigued. But the overarching plot is still a little problematic – triplets all fall in love with the boy next door and their relationships are pretty much defined by that for the next decade and a half… Still pretty enjoyable though! A good read for a trashy weekend by the pool.


The Wicked + The Divine: Rising Action – Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matthew Wilson, Clayton Cowles (4 stars)

FullSizeRenderThe stakes are high! Persephone/Laura is back and is determined to get the gods onside to overthrow Ananke and her weird ritual of murdering everyone. It is totally f***ed up and also totally brilliant. Can’t wait to read Volume 5.

Paper Girls 1 – Brian K. Vuaghan, Cliff Chiang, Matt Wilson, Jared K. Fletcher (3.5 stars)

In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. The world as they know it has been invaded by some sort of alien; and where exactly has everyone gone? I found it a little strange that there was no translation given for much of the ‘alien’s’ language, but overall I enjoyed the weird nostalgic storyline.


The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck – Mark Manson (2 stars)

If you want to read a sweary self-help book, I would definitely recommend Sarah Knight’s The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k instead of this. It made its way onto the Dymocks101, so I was expecting to enjoy it downloada lot more. (I’ve found a few favourites from this list in the past – it hasn’t often let me down.) This book just wasn’t right for me. I took nothing from it, and felt that it was self-indulgent on behalf of Mark Manson – it was less a self-help book at times, and more a personal affirmation that he was living his best life. And good for him; he definitely doesn’t give a f**k. But neither do I – this book has left my life as quickly as it entered it.

What did you read this week? What were the highs and the lows?

Leave a Reply

