Stacking the Shelves #56

Stacking the Shelves #56

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

FullSizeRenderSoooooo, my book ban has NOT been going well AT ALL. I did make it to my library though; and the only books I paid for were audio books for my car trips! But still…. I should be making more of an effort…

Library:

  • Notes From a Small Island – Bill Bryson

I’m going to London at the end of the year! I like to prepare for holidays by reading books about the places I’m going to. I love Bill Bryson’s writing, so I’m starting with him! (I’m also doing a reread of the Harry Potter series!) What are your favourite stories from London/England?

  • What Language Do I Dream In? – Elena Lappin

I’m a bit of a language nerd; I read German and French fluently, even if I’m not great at the listening/speaking part! So when I saw this book in the library, I needed it!

  • The Good People – Hannah Kent

I’ve been meaning to read this for a while. I tried the audio, but intensely disliked the narrator. So I was glad when it finally came into my library! 🙂 It’s on the Dymocks101 – I seem to be going pretty well with that challenge, though at the neglect of my actual TBR!

  • The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley – Hannah Tinti

This is my book club book for May! We had an incredible success with The Night Circus, so I’m excited to see what this one holds!

  • We’ll Always Have Paris – Emma Beddington

Again with the memoirs about places I’m going to! I’m thinking that I will be ducking over to Paris for a few days! 🙂

Gift:

  • Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls – Elena Favilli

You may have seen talk of this book – it’s SO COOL. A collection of stories about inspiring women throughout history. I cannot wait to read it!

Audio:

  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – J. K. Rowling (Narrated by Stephen Fry)
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J. K. Rowling (Narrated by Stephen Fry)

I have been LOVING my reread of the Harry Potter series through audio – Stephen Fry is amazing, and the stories are just INCREDIBLE (as always)! I may have cried when Neville was awarded those 10 winning house points at the end of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

  • SPQR – Mary Beard (Narrated by  Phyllida Nash)

When I first started listening to audio books, I discovered that I could concentrate on non-fiction more effectively in this format. This is a book I have been meaning to read for AAAAGGGGEEEESSSS, so I am hoping the audio will encourage me to start it sooner!

BookDepository:

I may have had a few wines maybe two or three weeks ago and ordered myself some books… OOPS! However, I did order myself some really pretty ones!

  • Frogkisser – Garth Nix

I ordered the UK hardcover edition; it is SO PRETTY. I am so pleased to have this in my collection.

  • The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

I made a mistake with this one… I just wanted to own all the pretty hardcovers, and this is so not a pretty one… Luckily, I have a friend who may want to purchase it for half of what I paid? Better than nothing!

  • Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor

I have read, and adored this book, and I have the gorgeous UK hardcover. But the US one is so shiny as well, so drunk Emily decided she needed it – and I’m not too disappointed in her there!

  • Giant Days Volume 2 – John Allison, Linda Tremain
  • Giant Days Volume 3 – John Allison, Linda Tremain

I LOVE THESE GRAPHIC NOVELS! I devoured them very shortly after receiving them. 🙂

What books did you add to your shelves this week? Any tips for me in FINALLY adhering to a book ban?

Leave a Reply

