Weekly Recap June 2017 #3

Weekly Recap June 2017 #3

Six books this week! And I moved to Sydney, so I had a whole day out of action. Plus the hours spent packing during the week. Whichwood was a definite favourite, as was The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue. I also FINALLY jumped onto the Hamilton bandwagon. Let me know what your recent favourites have been in the comments at the bottom! 🙂

Genuine Fraud – E. Lockhart (3 stars)

I am really intrigued by books that work backwards in time, as this one does. Jule is on the run, and makes the mistake of befriending a police officer in the glamorous hotel she is holed up in. That’s when the story begins to turn back time, to show how Jule got to where she is and the sinister events which occurred. It was an interesting story, but I was incredibly disappointed in the ending. I wanted to know more about where Jule came from and why she ended up the way she did – I was just left dissatisfied…

FullSizeRender

The Map of Bones – Francesca Haig (Australian author) (3 stars)

This book is the sequel to The Fire Sermona book I really enjoyed back in 2015. I still find the series gripping and interesting, but this book didn’t really leave me wanting the third instalment desperately. It was enjoyable, and we learned more about how the world as we know it became a dystopian wasteland, but it did feel a little bit unoriginal – elements definitely reminded me strongly of Isobelle Carmody’s Obernewtyn series. I still want to read the third, but I think it’s the sort of book I will borrow rather than buy for my own shelves…

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue – Mackenzi Lee (4 stars)

This book is FANTASTIC! I’m a little bit obsessed with the idea of Grand Tours of the Continent – it fascinates me that all these wealthy young men were sent off to investigate their wild side before joining society; sort of like a year-long buck’s party! Monty, Percy and Felicity are all fantastic characters – Felicity especially, in my opinion. She wants to be a doctor and makes great jokes about men being afraid of blood. However, it is not just the tale of two rich boys travelling the world – there are highway robberies, pirates and a ton of alchemy. The story also touches on race relations, queer culture and illness in the eighteenth-century. It was a rip-roaring tale of adventure and love; swashbuckling is a perfect word! READ IT! I’m hoping to write a longer review, but that could digress into pure fangirling…

Editing Emma – Chloe Seager (3 stars)

Emma Nash is ghosted by the love of her life and spends the entire summer locked in her room, in the same grotty pair of PJs. Then she realises she needs to regroup and starts blogging about the ways in which she will ‘edit’ herself to get back on track and find an even better boyfriend. It was funny and crude, and it reminded me so much of what it is to be a teenager (even though I was never cool enough to have a boyfriend). An entertaining read for a lazy afternoon.

FullSizeRender

Hamilton: The Revolution – Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter (5 stars)

Just WOW! Reading the story behind the making of the world’s most famous musical was fascinating. I also listened to the soundtrack at the same time as reading, which was an amazing reading experience. The songs are incredible. Get yourself over to Spotify and LISTEN!

Whichwood – Tahereh Mafi (5 stars)

I read Furthermore back in February, and loved it. Whichwood is even better. It’s a sort-of sequel, sort-of not; references are made to Furthermore but it isn’t 100% necessary to have read it first. Though Alice and Oliver do make an appearance. But it is Laylee who captured my heart – she is a young girl who has taken on the role of an adult. As the sole remaining mordeshoor in the village, she spends her days cleaning the dead and sending them to the afterlife. But it’s getting out of hand and sucking the very life out of her. Tahereh Mafi writes so evocatively, and this story is just beautiful.

What have you been reading this week?

Leave a Reply

