Weekly Recap June 2017 #4

Weekly Recap June 2017 #4

I think I might have divided my weeks up a bit weirdly – June doesn’t have five weeks does it? Oh well! Hahaha – six books this week: staying on top of the TBR (JUST!). Favourites were Wild BeautyOut of Heart and The Circle. I also really enjoyed All The Crooked Saints, but it took me a while to get used to Maggie Stiefvater’s writing – it was my first read by her!

The Pier Falls – Mark Haddon (3 stars)

I really like short story collections and this one was fabulous! I loved the title story, The Pier Falls and the final offering, The Weir – is it weird that my favourites focused so heavily on the idea of death? I also enjoyed The Woodpecker and the Wolf, about a failed expedition to Mars! Plus The Island, about Ariadne, who was abandoned by Theseus in Greek myth. But there were also some super strange ones, hence the three-star raring…

FullSizeRender

Out of Heart – Irfan Master (4 stars)

Adam is a teenage boy who lives with his mum and teenage sister. His dad has left, his sister doesn’t speak, and then his grandfather dies. In doing so, he leaves a precious gift to someone else – his heart. William is the recipient of Adam’s grandfather’s heart. He doesn’t think he deserves it. And then he meets Adam’s family. This was a really quick read, but unbelievably lovely. It’s about grief and love and finding your purpose, and I adored it!

Wild Beauty – Anna-Marie McLemore (4 stars)

What a beautiful, beautiful book! The Nomeolvides women have always tended the grounds of La Pradera, a lush garden estate. Flowers bloom like magic from their touch. But there is a curse over these women – if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. This generation of five girl cousins are all in love with the same person. So they sacrifice everything else they hold dear to the gardens, hoping they can keep her safe. And then the gardens give them something back – a mysterious boy called Fel. Estrella is the girl who finds him, and as she tries to help him discover the missing pieces of his past, she uncovers dark secrets about the garden. This story is beautiful, the setting is divine, the characters are intriguing, and the ending was perfection.

Parisian Chic: A Style Guide – Inès de la Fressange (2 stars)

I expected great things from this book – it’s held up as a quintessential French style book. But it was nowhere near as interesting as other books about Paris I have read, especially How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are, which I really need to reread soon! I did, however, discover a Monet museum which I would love to go to when I visit Paris at the end of this year! 🙂 However, this book is still really pretty and a welcome addition to my shelves, even though its content isn’t that incredible.

FullSizeRender

All the Crooked Saints – Maggie Stiefvater (3.5 stars)

I hadn’t read a Maggie Stiefvater book before this one! It took me a while to get into her style of writing – it’s very focused on creating atmosphere rather than driving plot. However, once I relaxed into it, about a third of the way in, I loved the weirdness and the beauty of the writing. I will definitely need to read more of her books soon. This story is about family and miracles. I loved that the miracles given to pilgrims weren’t what they wanted, but what they needed to learn to be better people. Really really beautiful book!

The Circle – Dave Eggers (4 stars)

I read this book mostly because the movie which comes out later this year stars Emma Watson. It was TERRIFYING! The Circle is an internet business, a sort of amalgamation of Facebook, Google, internet banking and EVERYTHING ELSE you do online. Mae has just started a new job – she is super excited to be a part of this amazing business. But she becomes completely and utterly brainwashed as the Circle works on world domination. Mae is a bit annoying, but the book really made me reconsider how much of my life I live online. I may be *trying* to reduce the time I spend on social media in particular… Because I WILL NOT END UP LIKE MAE! I’m actually really excited to see the movie now!

What have you been reading this week? Anything I need to know about?

 

Leave a Reply

