Stacking the Shelves #67

Stacking the Shelves #67

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

Annnnnnndddddd, I more than made up for the fact that I accumulated no new books last week. TEN new books. Four of them are borrowed, I suppose, but six really isn’t that much better than ten….

Work:

  • Moonrise – Sarah Crossan

I love Sarah Crossan’s work, and am really excited about this ARC of her new book! It’s a Bloomsbury title, and it looks really interesting – all about a character and his brother, who is on death row.

FullSizeRender

  • The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome – Katrina Nannestad

I really loved Olive of Groves and Katrina Nannestad’s new series sounds even better! It’s about a little girl who is sent to live with an eccentric author when her mother falls ill.

  • The Seven – Peter Newman

I absolutely adored The Vagrant by Peter Newman, and The Malice (its sequel) was fantastic as well. I can’t wait to get stuck into the third book, though I will need to check some recaps – it’s been a while!

Bought:

  • Ghost Empire – Richard Fidler

I had the great pleasure of hearing Richard Fidler in conversation with Kari Gislason; they were discussing their book Saga Land, which comes out in November. It sounds amazing and both men were fascinating to listen to. I could not resist buying Fidler’s first book, in its pretty hardcover edition.FullSizeRender

  • The Book of Lost Things – John Connolly

This was a total cover buy – it’s so pretty! And it’s a book about a book, which always grips my attention!

  • Victoria – Julia Baird

I want to read this as soon as possible, but it is so enormous that I’m not entirely sure when I will get around to it… I’m fascinated with Victoria and cannot wait to read Julia Baird’s account.

Borrowed:

  • Nevermoor – Jessica Townsend

I am so excited about this Hachette book! It looks incredible, and has been compared to the magic of Harry Potter. I cannot wait to get stuck in; I love a good middle-grade and this has had amazing reviews!

FullSizeRender

  • Dear Martin – Nic Stone

I adored Angie Thomas’ The Hate U Give. Her endorsement appears on the front of this book, which also discusses issues regarding race relations in the US.

  • Warcross – Marie Lu
  • Unearthed – Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Two of my most anticipated from BEA – I’m so excited that my friend trusts me enough to borrow them!

Trade:FullSizeRender

  • Nevernight – Jay Kristoff

I traded a rare ARC of Nevernight for this delightful black-sprayed edges hardcover. It is one of the prettiest books I own. I LOVE IT! People might think I’m a bit mental for trading something rare, but I have been trying to be less obsessed with ARCs, in favour of finished copies, especially beautiful ones. This series is a great place to start.

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

