Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015 – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015 – Top Ten Tuesday

This is my first time participating in Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I’m excited that my first topic will be my Top Ten Books from the year so far!

toptentuesday

1. An Ember in the Ashes – Sabaa Tahir

An amazing young adult fantasy debut; great characters, great world plus a few little Roman influences!

download (1) download (2)

2. The Selection – Kiera Cass

A dystopian world plus pretty dresses? I was absolutely sold! Still one of the weirdest recommendations I give, describing it as a cross between The Bachelor and The Hunger Games!

3. A Darker Shade of Magic – V.E. Schwab

I haven’t managed to write a review for this one yet, because I keep lending out my copy! This is one of those books you want e everyone to read!!!! Kell can travel between Londons, vastly different cities in incredibly different worlds sharing nothing but the name. The characters are excellent and the magical concept is just fantastic!

downloaddownload (2)

4. Good Omens – Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Absolutely hysterical. It is just too brilliant for words, though I did try in my blog post.

5. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli + The Captive Prince – C.S. Pacat

I honestly couldn’t choose between these two and it was because I loved them for the same reason!!! The portrayal of sexuality is never forced – the characters are never made to feel like outcasts because of their sexual preferences. Like Darker Shade of Magic I haven’t been able to review these yet, because I lent my copies out as soon as I finished reading them – they are just that good! I need everyone to read them!

download (1) images

6. Lifespan of Starlight – Thalia Kalipsakis

This should teach everyone not to judge a book by its cover. Time travel in a dystopian Australia. Absolutely amazing. Cannot wait for the next books!!!!

Lifespan of Starlight_cover download

7. I Am Pilgrim – Terry Hayes

Not a genre I generally read, but a truly amazing book! A spy novel for the very modern reader. I particularly loved the sciencey bits about bio-warfare. But the whole thing was amazing!

8. The A-Z of You and Me – James Hannah

It was absolutely heart-wrenching, but so very very beautiful. An amazing book about life and death.

download (2) download (2)

9. We All Looked Up – Tommy Wallach

What would you do if you knew you’d probably be dead in three months? This book follows four teenagers as they try to reconcile themselves with this very possibility, with an asteroid hurtling towards Earth. It is just so beautiful!

10. Laurinda – Alice Pung

A brilliant story about remaining true to yourself. Girls who, like me, went to a single-sex private school will find eerie similarities here!

download (2)

What are your favourite reads for 2015 so far??

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015 – Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Curse you, Emily! I raced through Captive Prince (book 1 of the trilogy) yesterday and galloped along with Prince’s Gambit today. What an end… rushed to download the 3rd. Not out until Feb 2016! Argh (sob).

    1. I know!!! I was hoping to grab Prince’s Gambit at the airport but no luck…. Will have to wait until I return!! Might not be a bad thing though seeing as the wait for the third is so big!!!!

Leave a comment