Weekly Recap August 2017 #1

Weekly Recap August 2017 #1

7 books in seven days again! Woooooooo! My Absolute Darling and Murder on the Orient Express were favourites, plus I adored Heaven, which was a friend’s recommendation! I also thought Shannon Hale’s Real Friends was just lovely – so overall a very good reading week! 🙂

My Absolute Darling – Gabriel Tallent (4 stars)

This book has been described by Stephen King as a ‘masterpiece’. And it is definitely an incredible book. Hard to process at times and terrifying in its intensity, My Absolute Darling is a devastating story of surviving the toughest circumstances. Turtle is the main character – a fourteen year old girl who is a bit of a loner. Her father is a misogynist and a survivalist – it scared me how intelligent his voice was though. Every time his character spoke, I felt stupid for not believing the same things he did (despite him obviously being an arsehole). He belittles Turtle constantly, and at the same time tells her that she is the only thing that makes his life worth living. But then Turtle makes friends, and her life changes. She becomes more confident, and willing to face up to the wrongs occurring in her home.

FullSizeRenderBe warned that there is definitely some family abuse in this novel – of many different kinds. It is confronting, but powerful. Martin was the character I found most fascinating – probably because I can see traits of his in so many people I know. What really hides beneath the surface? This book is one that you sometimes have to walk away from, sometimes need to reread, sometimes need to sit intently until the horror is over. Everybody will find something to take away from this book.

Four Weeks, Five People – Jennifer Yu (3 stars) Read more

Stacking the Shelves #71

Stacking the Shelves #71

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

Soooooo, I went completely and utterly overboard this week…. OOPS! 18 new books! Not entirely sure when I am going to find the time to read them all! What are your best reading tips???

Harry Potter:

  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Gryffindor – J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Slytherin – J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Hufflepuff – J. K. Rowling

I may have ordered myself all the paperbacks…. Hehehehe! Unfortunately, my house (Ravenclaw) is the only one that didn’t arrive this week! They’re so pretty, but I am seriously going to need a new bookshelf to fill entirely with Harry Potters.

FullSizeRender

  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J. K. Rowling

ANOTHER edition! I love these slipcase editions. The final two should be in my hands sometime in the very, very near future! *party*

FullSizeRender

Finished Copies: Read more

Weekly Recap July 2017 #4

Weekly Recap July 2017 #4

Seven books in seven days! I participated in the Booktubeathon 2017 challenge, where I had to read according to seven challenges. I chose books based on a combination of those I wanted to read RIGHT NOW and those that have been sitting in my TBR for WAAAAYYYY too long (looking at you Karen Memory)! Most of the books I read were pretty good, but nothing was a total standout!

Dear Martin – Nic Stone (4 stars) – Finish a book in one day.

Justyce is a good kid. He’s an honour student, destined for Yale. But then he tries to help his white (drunk) ex-girlfriend get home safely. But then he ends up in handcuffs. This moment in his life makes him reconsider his place in his mostly white school, and society in general. He begins to write to Martin Luther King Jr., asking questions about race relations in America. It is a powerful novel. There is a major turning point two-thirds of the way through that just broke my heart into a thousand tiny little pieces. Warning: I cried A LOT! A short book, but incredibly powerful. Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, and important for everyone to read.

FullSizeRender

Funny Kid for President – Matt Stanton (Australian author)(4 stars) – Finish a book completely outdoors. Read more

Stacking the Shelves #70

Stacking the Shelves #70

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

Nine new books – oopsy! I also placed a big Book Depository order this week, so that will start arriving soon!!! I am having a ban in place for August though – no money will be spent on books AT ALL!

FullSizeRenderBook Club Picks:

  • My Absolute Darling – Gabriel Tallent

This book is critically acclaimed and it is my work book club book. Absolutely can’t wait to get stuck in (have to finish it by Tuesday!), as I have only heard incredible things.

  • Murder on the Orient Express – Agatha Christie

This is not technically a book club book yet, but I’m hoping I can persuade my group to pick it up for next month! I’ve never read an Agatha Christie, and with the movie coming out I really want to read this one ASAP!

Literature to Young Adult: Read more

Weekly Recap July 2017 #3

Weekly Recap July 2017 #3

Seven books this week! Yay for being back to one per day! The overall favourite this week was City of Brass – it was incredible, with vivid world-building and amazing plot twists! No truly dreadful books this week – The Wrong Girl was a bit trashy, but we all need that sometimes!

All Our Wrong Todays – Elan Mastai (4 stars)

A time travel book! Tom Barren is from a present where humanity thrives in a technology utopia with flying cars, and instant food. Tom has never been able to find his place in this idealistic world, but then he accidentally changes the course of the future when he uses his genius father’s time machine. Suddenly, he is in our present, and his family believe he has had a nervous breakdown and hallucinated his ‘past’. But as his new life just gets better and better, he has a tough decision – does he fix the world for the rest of humanity, or keep it like this just for himself?

I loved the short chapters, especially that which has an entire page of ‘Fuck’, repeated over and over. It was a great time travel story, though the writing style was a bit incongruous – the themes were definitely adult, but the writing felt very immature for the content. I still loved it – it’s time travel; how could I not? The ending was a little strange… (Look away now if you don’t want to be spoiled a little bit!!!) A third present was introduced which was just a bit tooooooo weird for me. But overall, a fab book with fascinating characters and interesting twists and turns!

FullSizeRender

Moonrise – Sarah Crossan (3 stars) Read more

Stacking the Shelves #69

Stacking the Shelves #69

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where book enthusiasts can show off their newest additions to their collection!

OOPS! Too many books again! Eight this week, but I spent no money on these ones! 🙂 So excited to get stuck into a lot of these! But my TBR might explode soon….

FullSizeRender

Awesome Covers:

  • City of Brass – S. A Chakraborty

A stunning ARC, an amazing story. I need EVERYONE to read this book when it comes out in March!

  • Whimsy & Woe – Rebecca McRitchie, illustrated by Sonia Kretschmar

I loved the ARC, but the finished copy is just AMAZING! Those illustrations; the pretty hardcover. *swoon*

ARCs – old and new: Read more

Weekly Recap July 2017 #2

Weekly Recap July 2017 #2

Only five books this week, and one of them was super small! Favourite was absolutely Nevermoor – AMAZING! I was also pleasantly surprised by Living on Hope Street and Poison City. 🙂

Unearthed – Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner (3 stars)

Earth has intercepted a message from an alien race, and people are flocking to the ancient planet for various purposes. Mia is a scavenger, determined to find something worth enough money to buy her sister’s freedom back. Jules is an academic, whose purposes are slightly more noble – he wants to prove his genius mathematic father’s theories about the aliens right.

I struggled with Mia as a character – she was a bit of a bitch, but it was also understandable given her past circumstances. Jules, however, was a cute cinnamon roll and I loved him. The story itself was intriguing, though I’m not sure its pitch of Lara Croft x Indiana Jones was right. I also struggled with the writing a little bit – the pacing was a bit slow for an adventure story… But the ending was incredible and I need the next book ASAP. Being a Latin nerd, I was disappointed with the phrasing of a certain Latin phrase – I think it’s wrong. But if the authors have a Latin expert, I am happy to concede that my 10 years of study might not have been enough.

FullSizeRender

Living on Hope Street – Demet Divaroren (Australian author) (4 stars) Read more